Echuca-Moama and district golf notes | June 17-24

Ace: Ken Lambert was bang on target with a hole-in-one at Rich River Golf Club. Photo: Supplied.

Thursday, June 16:

Ken Lambert provided the highlight of the day when he slam-dunked his tee shot on 16 east for a hole-in-one and the super-pin.

At the opposite end of the scale Jade Bennett was nearest the pin on eight, but missed his birdie putt from half a metre which relegated him into third place in A-grade.

Luke Young shot under par to win on a countback from Peter Johnston — two great scores.

Craig Opie had an eagle on 11 east as part of his winning score in B-grade and Nug Lister edged out Danny Powell and Kenny Aitken for the major C-grade prize.

A-grade: Luke Young (43 points), 1. Peter Johnston (43), 2. Jade Bennett (42), 3.

B-grade: Craig Opie (38 points), 1. Danny Powell (36), 2. Michael Clemmens (36), 3. C-grade: Nug Lister (37 points), 1. KD Martin (37), 2. Ken Aitken (36), 3. NTPs: Peter Johnston, Mike Mangiameli, Garry Jones, Jade Bennett, Alan Johnson, Les Hinton, Paul Newman, Alan Williams and Nug Lister.

Eagles: Luke Young and Craig Opie 11 east. Hole-in-one and super-pin: Ken Lambert

Saturday, June 18:

It was fitting that the day after Jim Stapleton’s memorial service and what would have been his 109th birthday, the JH Stapleton Perpetual was held.

It is a tough event as it is aggregate stableford, so both players have to play well to win.

Robbie George and Michael Badura played best edging out Steve Turner and Mahir Ozdilek, with Marcus Keogh and Ray Byron, and Michael Lizza and Joel Norwood, in the placings.

Matt Jean eagled 5 east and Darren Burr was a happy winner of the super-pin.

A-grade: Robbie George and Michael Badura (71 points), 1. Steve Turner and Mahir Ozdilek (70), 2. Marcus Keogh and Ray Byron (69), 3. Michael Lizza

Eagle: Matt Jean (5 East)

NTPs: Tristan Nevin, Simon Locke, Tony Ciavarella, Marty Baldwin, Graeme Stevens, Fred Harrison, Chad Jones and Rob Kilgour.

Super-pin: Darren Burr.

Georgie Azzopardi and Maree Ciavarella are both consistent players and this led to a win in the aggregate stableford event.

Bernie Smith and Jan McGuinness were in second place and Vicki Kulbars and Simone Morgan in third. Marcia Spiers has performed well on the par threes of late and Bernie Smith won the super-pin.

Women: A-grade: Georgie Azzopardi and Maree Ciavarella (67 points), 1. Bernie Smith and Jan McGuinness, (65), 2, Vicki Kulbars and Simone Morgan (62c/b), 3. NTPs: Marcia Spiers

Super-pin: Bernie Smith

Sunday, June 19:

There was a great turnout of 106 players for the medley par round with the best score of the day coming in B-grade, with Ian Pengelly taking first place with plus four on a countback to John Guilfoyle, just ahead of Bill Patterson in third place with plus three.

Darcy Whyte scored plus three for the A-grade win and visitor John Woods from Woodlands Golf Club won C-grade with plus two.

A-grade: Darcy Whyte (+3) 1. Lee McCullagh (+1 c/b) 2. Peter Quanchi (+1) 3.

B-grade: Ian Pengelly (+4 c/b) 1. John Guilfoyle (+4) 2. Bill Patterson (+3) 3.

C-grade: John Woods (+2) 1. Vicki Kulbars (+1 c/b) 2. Tony Morgan (+1) 3.

Monday, June 20:

Leonie Dunne scored 21 stableford points to take the A-grade win in the nine-hole competition, while Alison Kable won in B-grade with 20 points. There was no nearest-the-pin winner.

A-grade: Leonie Dunne (21) 1. Rosanne Sharp (18 c/b) 2. Susan Hull (18) 3.

B-grade: Alison Kable (20) 1. Jennifer Todd (18 c/b) 2. Sharon Charlton (18) 3.

In the 18-hole stableford medley, Dianne McMinn continued her winning form with 36 points to take first place from Denise Neal with 35 on a countback to Vicki Shipp. Adrian Schulz was nearest-the-pin on the third.

Tuesday, June 21:

Shayne Trigwell and Dean Zadow won by a big margin in the two-person ambrose with Peter Anderson and Graeme Chappel in second.

Ash Bronsgeest and Axyl Lewis had two eagles but could only manage third place.

Keith McCormack hit one close to claim the super-pin.

A friendly reminder: Of the 90 pairs a dozen were unfortunately disqualified, one for an incorrect score and the remaining for not putting score numbers on the card or indicating the six drives for each player.

Numbers, player drives and the markers scores are required so that results can be verified at the end of the day. Thanks in anticipation.

A-grade: Shayne Trigwell and Dean Zadow (61.25), 1. Peter Anderson and Graeme Chappell (63.25), 2. Ashley Bronsgeest and Axyl Lewis (64), 3. Peter Colliver and John Moyle (64.25), 4. NTP’s: Tom Flinn, Don Curnow, Evan Lloyd, Graham Hodgson, Stuart Milgate and Alan Cogley.

Super-pin: Keith McCormack

Wednesday, June 22:

The 86 women in Wednesday's field played from the white markers on the east course and Ann McPherson's magnificent 42 points, the day's best score, gave her the win in C-grade.

The consistent Bernie Smith won A-grade with 38 on a countback to Carol Eddy and Dianne McMinn had yet another good day out to take B-grade with 39 points as well as the C-grade second shot NTP. Rosalie Drill won the super-pin as well as holing her second shot on the 13th for another prize.

A-grade: Bernie Smith (38 c/b) 1. Carol Eddy (38) 2. Marion Whatley (37) 3.

B-grade: Dianne McMinn (39) 1. Marie Collins (34) 2. Deb Bawden (32) 3.

C-grade: Ann McPherson (42) 1. Leonie Dunne (34) 2. Lee Boulton (32) 3.

NTPs: Maree Ciavarella and Rosey Devlin on the third; Nacole Horneman, Jan McGuinness and Jennifer Todd (16th); Second shot on 13 - Rosalie Drill, Carolyn Smith and Dianne McMinn.

Super-pin: Rosalie Drill.