Watts a winner in Seymour’s cricket association awards

By Meg Saultry

Tallarook's premiership captain Lachlan Watts added more medals to his trophy cabinet last week, with the all-rounder taking out five accolades presented by the Seymour District Cricket Association.

While the league presentation night, scheduled for last Friday, was cancelled in response to the coronavirus pandemic, players were notified of their respective awards on the weekend - with Watts a clear stand-out across the board.

After leading his team to the league’s A-grade two-day premiership less than a fortnight ago, Watts was named Cricketer of the Year as well as the Frank Zanelli medalist for the best A-grade cricketer.

Watts also picked up Best All-rounder, with 364 runs (avg. 45.5) and 24 wickets as a spinner and was named in the Team of the Year, which he also has the honouring of serving as captain.

Yea’s Cam Armstrong won Best A-grade Batter for his strong season, scoring 433 runs for an average of 54.13, while Watts’ teammate Leigh Irving was awarded Best Bowler for his 21 wickets at 9.86 this season.

Among the Team of the Year, Tallarook had the most of any representatives, with four, while Kilmore followed closely behind with three.

One-day champions Yea had two players named, with Eastern Hill also fielding two. Picking up one spot was Broadford while Seymour was the only side without a representative.

● In the B-grade awards, Avenel’s Bailey Clark was named the John Gadd Medallist with 17 votes, while also claiming the Best All-rounder.

Playing for Alexandra, Shane Parker’s season with the pine was recognised, with the Best Batter award, with 287 runs (avg. 71.75), while teammate James Kidd finished as the competition's Best Bowler with 28 wickets for 8.43.

● In the race for C-grade’s top award, Seymour’s Cam Kirby and Avenel’s Chayse Thomson shared honours, both named as the Lawrie Boyd Medallist with 18 votes each.

Kirby also collected the title of Best Batter and All-rounder, with the Maroons player finishing the season with 403 runs (avg. 50.38) and 17 wickets.

Meanwhile Pyalong’s Michael Edwards added the Best Bowler award (22 wickets at 6.5) to his premiership medal.

● In the junior leagues, Eastern Hill’s Regan Gardner made a clean sweep of the under-16s awards, named Junior Cricketer of the Year and the Ken Hall Medalist (with 19 votes), while also picking up all three individual awards for batting, bowling and all-rounder (with 337 runs and 27 wickets).

Eastern Hill’s Oliver Munro claimed the Sam Watts Medal with 15 votes in the under-15 competition, as well as Batter of the Year with 214 runs.

Kilmore’s Xavier Stute was awarded Best Bowler (15 wickets at 4.27), while Broadford’s Daniel Meek was judged Best All-rounder.

Awards were also given out for the best junior player in the Junior Country Week earlier this year, with Broadford’s Josh Nolan (under-13), Oliver Munro (under-15) and Kilmore’s Corey Dennehy (under 17) all judged the best player in their respective teams.

SDCA Team of the Year

Mitch Itter (Tallarook)

Josh Buttler (Kilmore)

Jac Smith-Williams (Tallarook)

Cam Armstrong (Yea)

Seemus Feery (Eastern Hill)

Ben Dawson (Kilmore)

Leigh Irving (Tallarook)

Matthew Rose (Kilmore) (VC)

Lachlan Watts (Tallarook) (C)

Ben Bryant (Eastern Hill)

Jeremy Bradshaw (Broadford)

Corey Malcolm (Yea)