Golf report

October 27, 2017



N. Billings, John Heywood, Marg Locke +8.

Friday social night was well attended this week. Thanks to Lyn Solomon for providing the food.

Taurus Meat Trays were won by Lyn Solomon and Alice Hall with the bottle of Fowles Wine going to Vin Hall.

Members draw was won by Shane Thompson who was not present to collect the prize.

Next Friday, October 27, a barbecue will be the order of the day — names on the sheet in the hallway by Thursday please.

The Christmas Party this year will take the form of a trip to the Kilmore Trots (Twilight Meeting) and dinner on Sunday, December 10.

Please put names on the list provided in the Clubhouse.

Don’t forget to enter for the Auto Pro Cup Eve Triples Tournament — entry sheet in clubhouse and please enter your photo in the Photo Competition which closes October 31.


Division one — round 3: Seymour went to Shepparton Golf last Tuesday to be defeated on all rinks 0-51 to 16-82.

Bernie Dillon, Jenny Kreemers, Marg Locke ,Maureen Prudden (s) 18 lost to K. Wright 24.

David Atkins, Bill Solomon, Gail Krzciuk, Dot Dillon (s) 17 lost to J. Crowe 32.

Lynda Rohde, Rob Baldwin, Jenny Ridd, Wilma Atkins (s) 16 lost to K. McPherson 26.

Division three hosted Shepp Park, playing on the grass, and won all three rinks 6-101 to 0-40.

Graeme Flint, Richard Maggs, Ken Butcher, Gladys Burgoyne (s) 37 defeated E. Brewster 10.

Lois White, Linda Brown, Rob Brown, Di Staples (s) 31 defeated J. Rodda 14.

Milton Howell, Pat Dawe, Derrick Boyd, Trudy Golding (s) 33 defeated M. Boyle 16.

Division five played at home against Katandra West winning one rink and drawing the other: 13-61 to 1-34.

Tony Lee, Barb Plum, Liz Gee, Anne Cassar (s) 22 drew with M. Ash 22.

Bob Tomkins, Marg Callaghan, Graeme Prime, Marg Flynn (s) defeated L. Lindner 12.


Division one — round 2

Seymour visited Yea to win their game by 10 shots 12-62 to 4-52.

Dilva Grattan, Denis Klein, Lyn Meek, Lois Tomkins (s) 20 lost to R. Branch 21.

Noel Pianta, Derek Blakeman, Peter Holland, Ian Ridd (s) 13 lost to D. Sherman 18.

Allan Welsh, Jan Wesselman, Marie Maggs, Jim Bruce (s) 29 defeated C. Hilderbrand 13.


Division one — round 1

Seymour, playing at Nagambie, had a great win in the first game for the season.

Seymour 14-85 defeated Nagambie 4-79.

Jenny Ridd, Don Lawton, Mark Law, Rob Baldwin (s) 28 defeated R. Page 12.

Terry Flynn, Terry Smalley, Dav Atykins, Max Hammond (s) 15 lost to D. Nichols 32.

Wilma Atkinms, Dot Dillon, Bill Solomon, Rob Brown (s) 30 defeated B. Spargo 11.

Ian Ridd, Bernie Dillon, Dale Sellick, Matt O’Sullivan 12 lost to P. Nichols 24.

Division five

Seymour went down to last year’s premiers by 15 shots, 2-65 to 14-80.

Allan Welsh, Eon Densworth, Jim Bruce, Derrick Boyd (s) 18 lost to K.Byrne 31;

Linda Brown, Pat Dawe, Vin Hall, Steve Reed (s) 17 lost to G.Tilbrook 26;

John Heywood, Lyn Meek, Di Dtaples, Maureen Prudden (s) 30 defeated K.Beaton 23.

Division six

Seymour had a good win at home to Stanhope winning both rinks. 14-52 to 0-41.

Lyn Rieniets, Tony Lee, Marg Callaghan, Jan Wesselman (s) 30 defeated G. Poole 20.

Bill McLennan, Barb Plum, Marg Flynn, Neil Harris (s) 22 defeated C. Weller 21.


Division one — round 3: No score sheet available

Division two

Seymour collected the points after a forfeit from VRI.

Seymour VRI


Last Tuesday Seymour VRI travelled to Broadford, winning two rinks by a considerable margin and one rink went down by three shots for a 34-shot win overall.

Seymour VRI 14-86 defeated Broadford 2-52.

Results: B. Voogt, G. Dixon, J. Spargo, K. Towt (s) 33 defeated J. Hinchcliffe 10.

P. Smith, J. Tuckwell, I. Nichols, J. Purcell (s) 31 defeated N. Oliver 17.

P. Delzotto, S. Stanley, D. Prudden, B. Dawe (s) 22 lost to I. Mumford 25.

Saturday Pennant for Division One saw more team changes.

Seymour VRI hosted Broadford at the Seymour VRI green and being 24 shots down at the afternoon tea break, finished up with the VRI team winning only one rink and a drawn rink with a deficit score of 11 shots.

Division Two forced a forfeit against Seymour due to insufficient players being available to fill the team. In consequence 16 points were awarded to Seymour and they gained 15 shots.

Division three Goulburn Valley began on Saturday and travelled to Shepparton Park and returned with a good win with three rinks being successful and 34 shots up overall.

Division 1: Seymour VRI 3-85 lost to Broadford 15-96.

Results: S. Crockett, G. Dixon, P. Delzotto, I. Cashill (s) 23 defeated J. Hinchcliffe 14.

M. Challis, D. Clarke, P. Stevens, S. McGregor (s) 28 drew with R. Chapman 28.

J. Crockett, S. Towt, I. Nichols, W. Flint (s) 20 lost to G. Bilton 28.

K. Cain, C. Treloar, S. Stanley, M. Furletti (s) 14 lost to D. Hogan 26.

Division 3: Seymour VRI 16-118 def. Shepparton Park 2-84.

Results: H. Flint, D. Prudden, K. Towt, B. Dawe (s) 32 defeated B. Hubble 13.

I. McBean, J. Spargo, W. Noonan, L. Spargo (s) 37 defeated R. Phillips 21.

B. Voogt, R. Hockley, J. Purcell, G. Jones (s) 26 defeated R. Matthews 25.

P. Challis, M. Puppa, M. Szczykulski, G. Neal (s) 23 lost to W. Gibbs 25.

The meat tray raffle supplied by Taurus Fine meats was won by George Bilton of Broadford.

Next Saturday the club will be looking for 44 players.

Division One will travel to Wallan for a must-win game and, should there be sufficient members available, Division Two is scheduled to play against Broadford at Broadford.

The Goulburn Valley Division Three team will host Shepparton Golf at the Seymour VRI green.

Please ensure that all players make themselves available for play from now on each Saturday.


The mid-week pennant side is two wins from two games after defeating Shepparton Golf by 14 shots in their Division 4 game last week.

Maximum points were obtained after Pina Gattuso, Deanne Page, John and Lyn Sinden won 25-16.

A 24-19 victory was recorded by Lyn Dunn, John Dennis, Vicki Reidy and Fiona Smith.

Nagambie played Seymour in Division 1 and both sides observed a minute’s silence prior to the start of play as a mark of respect on the passing of Linton and Lyn Gleeson, a highly respected couple in the bowling community.

The match was played in breezy conditions and the four scores were all lop sided with Seymour holding sway to win by six shots.

Graham Barber made his debut in the team of Mick Mitchell, Peter and Paul Nichols and had a 24-12 win.

Brian Nisbet, Mick Nolan, Jack Spencer and Daniel Nichols were victorious 32-15.

John Pasternak, Rob Smith, Glen Weatherell and Rob Page were defeated 12-28.

Chris Spencer, Angel Mannakin, Greg Brack and Brett Spargo lost 11-30.

Entries are now being taken for a Rotational Three Bowl Triples on Wednesday, November 1 with a 9.30am start.

$45 per team includes three games of 10 ends with morning tea, lunch and afternoon tea.

Entries to Vicky Reidy, phone 0429131031 or Fiona Smith, phone 0418942446.

More in The Telegraph
Login Sign Up

Dummy text