Players take to the fairway for Avenel’s annual golf tournament

By David Rak

It was a very busy weekend at Avenel with the annual tournament contested.

A cool, overcast day didn’t deter players for Saturday’s Pioneer Park 4BBB Par event, which saw 50 players take to the fairways. There was a great contingent from Mallacoota as past president Greg Hopkins brought a group of friends over to his old “stomping ground”. Nagambie was also well represented, along with players from Euroa and Kilmore.

In all, 17 pairs of men and eight pairs of women battled it out, but the local men’s pair of David Fullager and Tim Batten blitzed the field with a terrific +11 to stake their claim.  Al McArthur and Cam Armstrong from Mallacoota were runners-up with 9.

A countback was required to decide the women's winners. Dee Wright and Robin Lied (Euroa) prevailed over Tania Zentveld and Justine Collins (Euroa), with both pairs scoring 2.

Nearest the pins, sponsored by John and Tania from Albert’s Café, Euroa, were won by Jared Smith (fifth), Cam Armstrong (eighth), Dee Wright (14th) and Iris Sidebottom (18th).  From the tee, Iris’ shot must’ve looked like it was going to roll into the hole, finishing just a few feet short, and she got the putt for a birdie. Well done, Iris.

Heath Wyllie from Baker’s Delight (Seymour and Shepparton) generously provided vouchers for the straightest drive on the fourth and the lucky winners were Harry Wheeler and Dee Wright, who had a great day.

It was men’s day on Sunday and there was a good field of 41 players from far and wide, including Medway, Bendigo, Quarry Hills, Mt Macedon, Alexandra, Broadford, Euroa, Kilmore, Seymour, Strathbogie, Buchan Valley, Cobram, Shepparton, St Andrews Beach, Meeniyan and Mallacoota.

With the input of major sponsors Goulburn Physiotherapy Seymour, Optimum Shear, Avenel Pharmacy, Tingay’s Landcare Services, Obion Electrical and JCS Electrical Solutions Avenel, the club offered prizes of more than $750 to the winners.

Ed Carracher (Euroa) won the men’s championship with 77 off the stick, his fourth win in five years. Justin Ryan (Quarry Hills), won the A-grade handicap with 74 nett. B-grade scratch went to Mick Prorock (Seymour) with 79, while the handicap was won by Leon Ellis (Mallacoota) with 69, the best nett score of the day.

A-grade nine holes out went to Matt Smith (Kilmore) and the nine in was won by Chris Biffin (Medway).  B-grade nine out was won by Alex Smith (Avenel) and the nine in went to Avenel's Dave Fullager.

Nearest-the-pins went to Jarvis Biffin (eighth), Chris Biffin (14th) and Steven Donovan (18th).

Longest drives went to Cobram's Matt Haddrell on the ninth (sponsored by Donovan Building) and Alexandra's Luke Heard on the 16th (sponsored by Baker’s Delight). 

Straightest drive (sponsored by Baker’s Delight) went to Ed Carracher.

A heartfelt thank you to everyone who contributed to make the weekend a success – the volunteers for their work on the course, the ladies in the kitchen, the gents manning the bar and, most importantly, the players for supporting the tournament.

This Saturday is the first round of the club championships. It is the best three rounds of four, so if you miss one round, you’re still in the mix. Tuesday’s golf will be stableford.

The women's tournament is scheduled for Thursday, August 22. Once again, generous sponsorship has enabled us to provide generous prizes, so mark your diaries for this day.

The tournament kickstarts the Dalhousie district tournament season, so keep an eye out for district events. We need to support them if we want them to support us.


A mild and dry week saw all competitions going ahead.

Last Wednesday the women played stableford and Dale Stuart (11) won the day with 30 points. The extra competition was the second shot on the 12th, which was also won by Stuart. The ball pool went to Dale Stuart and Anne Smith with 28 points. 

In the men’s competition, Dave Pearce (6) had 36 points to win the day but only after a countback from Ian Richardson (7), who had to settle for runner-up.  The nearest-the-pins went to Dave Pearce on the fourth, Greg Pell on the sixth, Terry Lemon on the 12th and Jock Mundy on the 17th. A score of 33 points on a countback got you into the ball pool. 

The mixed nine holes was won by Dawn Leece (38), who had 14 points, on a countback from Phil Block. Duncan Chisholm and Stubby Byrne both had 13 points to get in to the ball pool. 

On Friday the social six holes was played over holes one to six and the game was stroke.  Dave Pearce (6) took the honours with a nett score of 22.  Greg Pell was the runner-up with 23 nett. 

It was the monthly medal for the men on Saturday and conditions were mild with no wind, which made for a pleasant day out on the course. Frank Ambrose had a particularly great day when he had a terrific score of 102-33=69 to win the monthly medal and B-grade. A-grade winner was Mark Fountian with 82-11=71. The best scratch score of the day went to Mark Corridan with 75. Dave Hamilton was nearest-the-pin on the fourth,  Craig Zotti won the sixth and Heathcote visitor Erin Sage was closest on both the 12th and 17th.

The drive and pitch on the eighth went to Dale Stuart and the 15th went to Greg Pell. A score of 75 nett on a countback was needed for the ball pool. 

The women had another small field for their competition which was par. Di Byrne (18) had the winning score of 2. 

Next Friday the social six holes is stableford over holes 10 to 15.  Saturday is the club event for August, which means one competition for both men and women and the game will be stableford. 


A monthly medal was on offer, with club veteran Alby Seenan showing the field a clean set of heels, posting a credible 89-16-73.

Alby's finely crafted round was good enough to take the honours by three shots. Runner-up was Greg Whiteman, who fired a very satisfying score of 89-13-76, pushing Phil Hageman to third place on a countback with 91-15-76. 

The nearest-the-pins went to Shane McCormick, who hit the heart of the green on the 13th, and Shaun Bryant, who played his best shot of the day to take out the 16th.

Next week's golf will be the third round of the social club trophy. It will be a stableford event with S. McCormick on office duty and T. Baldwin in the bar.

Nagambie women’s stableford results, July 31

The winner of A and B-grade was Moz Fowler with 33 points. C-grade went to Carol Wallis with 19 points. Nine-hole winner with 19 points was Moz Fowler, who was also nearest-the-pin on the eighth hole.

Eighteen-hole balls and nine-hole balls went to Moz, Annette Mills and Irene Keogh.

August 7 will be the first round of the Vi Nolan 4BBB Par event (own partners).

Chicken run results, August 1

A stableford was played on the front nine.

The winner was Peter Davies with 18 points.

No-one managed to get nearest-the-pin on the eighth hole.

August 8 will be a stroke competition on the back nine, with nearest-the-pin on the 16th hole.