Full field on Anzac Day

By Southern Riverina News


A full field turned out for stableford on Anzac Day on Saturday.

The men played on the Captain’s Course with Division One going to Phil Nunn with 40 points, runner-up was Colin Holdsworth with 38.

Division Two went to Vene Mitchell with 35 points.

Nett birdies went to Philip Cheesewright , Geoffrey Hans and Rickey Bourke.

A field of 32 ladies also played stableford on Anzac Day with Division One claimed by Leanne Marshall with 38 points.

Division Two went to Elizabeth Muir with 35 points.

Nett birdies went to Cherryl Rossborough, Dianne Dungan and Shellei Clark.

Ladies Gold went to Pauline Gilbee 26.

Due to the full fields on the Captain’s Course the club also had eight men and three ladies playing on the President’s Course.

The ladies win went to Cheryl Hart with 34 points while Jim Williams won the men’s with 38 points.

Tuesday, April 21 saw 43 ladies playing stroke red with Division One going to Cheryl Hart with 67 nett. Runner-up went to Jill Collins with 73.

Elizabeth Muir was the Division Two winner with 73, followed by Margaret Boyce on 78.
Nett birdies went to Dianne Dungan and Jill Collins.

Stroke was played by 78 members on Wednesday, April 22 with Division One won by Vern Christensen with 69, on countback from Kevin Waller.

Division Two went to Ian Patterson with 72, followed by Lou Richard with 75 and Peter Carson was the Division Three winner with 73. Runner-up was Billy Greig with 74.

Nett birdies went to Ian Cameron, Greg Brooks and Billy Greig.

Men’s Gold winner was Ronald Eaton with 78.

On Sunday, Peter Bolt was the Division One winner with 40 stableford points followed by Graeme Filippe with 38.

Division Two went to Ronald Huy with 35 points, on countback from Stewart Crawford.

Peter Cunningham was the Division Three winner with 36 points, edging out Liam Purtill on 35.

Nett Birdies went to Ricky Bourke, Doug Pocknee and Liam Purtill.

Gold winner was Ronald Eaton on 27 points.

Sunday also saw 18 ladies play stableford on Sunday with Jill Loversidge taking the win with 40 points.

Runner-up was 11 year-old Olivia Thompson on 39 points.

Nett birdies went to Leanne Marshall and Shellei Clark.


A full week of competition stableford medley golf was played at Finley with good numbers on each day.

Golfers played under the restricted regulations in perfect weather on a course presented in top condition.

On Wednesday it was Grant Wilson with 37 stableford points who claimed the trophy for Division One.

After a three way countback on 36 points it was Anne Freestone who took out Division Two.
Ball competition winners were Linda Rendell (36), Annie Wood (36), Bill Mansell (35), Paul Pinnuck (35), Mark O’Brien (35), Rand Wilson (35) and John Taylor (35).

Justin Crowley with 19 points came home the winner when the winter nine hole competition started with Stableford on the front nine on Thursday.

Ball competition winners were John Taylor (18), Rand Wilson (17), Ian Daniel (17) and Leo McNamara (17).

A big field of escapees from isolation took to the course on Saturday for the stableford medley competition.

Justin Crowley made it two in a row when he stepped up with 42 points to take out Division One and Ryan Donkin took out Division Two with 38 points.

Ball competition winners were Wayne Peasley (38), Trevor McCaw (37), Anne Freestone (35), Paul Pinnuck (35), Tom McCarney (34), Linda Rendell (34), Sharon Pyle (34), Barry Fahey (33), Beth White (33), Grant Shaw (33), Julie O’Brien (33), Eric Dean (33) and Mark O’Brien (33).

Trevor McCaw, with 39 points, came in the winner when a smaller field played stableford on Sunday.

Ball competition winners were Mark Robertson (36), Bill Mansell (35), Jack Doyle (34), Brett Shaw (34) and Paul Pinnuck (33).

Golf at Finley will return to the scheduled program of events this weekend, however the time sheet regulations and modified rules required at the moment will still apply.