No mercy as Lakers sail towards the finals

By Meg Saultry

Nagambie has won 11 matches in a row and boasts an average winning margin of 70 points.

But it doesn’t mean the club is becoming complacent in the run to finals.

Nagambie coach Anthony Haysom said his team would continue to work on its whole game as it ramps up training ahead of a split round bye.

‘‘There is still plenty to work on over the next five or six weeks,’’ Haysom said.

‘‘Nothing’s perfect and there’s always room to improve.

‘‘We have a slightly new game plan this year. Players are still adapting to that.’’

On Saturday, the Lakers beat fellow top-six side Merrigum by 59 points at the Bulldogs’ home ground.

Haysom said an even contribution from across the ground meant the Lakers were continually beating most sides comfortably.

‘‘Our midfield is getting on top, which makes games easier,’’ he said.

‘‘If they’re on top, our forwards are getting more opportunity.

‘‘That’s the catalyst.’’

Among the best for Nagambie were Mick Shiels and Tom Clarke, along with Michael Roberts, who kicked six goals.

‘‘Mick Shiels does it every week, he gets 30-plus possessions,’’ Haysom said.

‘‘You know what you’re going to get with Shiels.

‘‘Clarke’s courage and hardness in the contest has been the most pleasing. And Roberts has been around a while. He’s a good player on the park.’’

The Lakers will face 13th-placed Violet Town after the bye, before games against Lancaster and Dookie United.

But it’s the opening round rematch against competition-leader Tallygaroopna in round 17 that will have most mouths watering.

‘‘The top six, with Tally and Avenel — we are fairly even when we’ve all got our best team on the park,’’ Haysom said.

●Nagambie’s reserves also took out their match against Merrigum, 17.6 (108) to 3.4 (22).

The Lakers kicked nine first-half goals to take the result beyond doubt early, with Jason Shiels and Shaun Silver best on ground.

Final score: Nagambie 20.11 (131) d Merrigum 10.12 (72)

Goalkickers: M. Roberts 6, A. Haysom 4, M. Wilson 2, B. Hutton 2, B. Fothergill 2, M. Lusted 2, T. Gladwin, N. Fothergill.

Best: M. Shiels, T. Clarke, M. Roberts, J. Hutton, D. Carroll, Z. Winter-Irving.