Ready for next step

By Seymour Telegraph

Finishing Year 6 is an important rite of passage, even more so at a small country school.

Nagambie’s St Joseph’s Primary School’s seven Year 6 students were congratulated at the end-of-year mass held on December 19 in the renovated St Malachy’s Catholic Church.

Students sang the school song at the start of the service. Year 6 students then welcomed everyone to the mass, read the Bible readings and gave the prayers of the faithful during the service.

Holy communion was completed by Leo Jones and Deane Page.

Parish priest Fr Tony Hill celebrated mass for the whole school community and thanked Mr Jones for his fine job as a principal, who was appointed again for this year.

He spoke of his early school and seminary years in Victorian schools.

He congratulated the pupils and said they were very special to St Joseph’s and was pleased they had received seven years of good Catholic education from the school.

He was sorry to see them leave it to go on to secondary school.

‘‘The end of primary school means they are on the threshold of a new era in their lives and are all keen and eager to move onto secondary school to advance their formal education.’’

He finished by saying the whole parish and school community was proud of them.

Mr Jones thanked Fr Hill and acknowledged his staff for their dedication, all the unseen extra work they do for the school, the school camps, events, the strategic plan, parents and friends group for functions and fundraising, parents, grandparents, carers and volunteers.

Each year level, from Foundation to Year 5, was presented with a certificate by their teacher to remember their 2018 school year.

Year 6 students were honoured by the school community at the final presentation of awards part of the night.

They received a certificate, a booklet and a medal to commemorate their time at St Joseph’s.

Holly Boyer was presented with the Margaret Perry Memorial award on behalf of Max Perry.

Katie Perry received Nagambie and District Lions Club award for excellence in all areas of school life.

Wil Gladwin and Lara Rae Berens shared the Kevin Verge memorial award for excellence in mathematics, presented on behalf of the Verge family.

Tom Mason was awarded the Nagambie RSL award, a new award last year, which was presented by Mr Jones on behalf of RSL president David Keall.

Crystal Gribbin was presented with the art award from teacher Sue Deane.

Aliza Thackeray received the Weary Dunlop award, presented on behalf of Member for Euroa Steph Ryan, who wrote a letter to the recipient saying how she looked forward to meeting them at Parliament House in 2019.

The students will remember their primary school days with fondness and were happy to be congratulated on their endeavours at the primary school’s end-of-year mass.

—Diane Grant