Good turn out for last golf game for 2017

January 03, 2018

The final competitive round of golf for 2017 was played at Nagambie on New Year’s Eve with a good turn out of players competing in a stableford event.


The final competitive round of golf for 2017 was played at Nagambie on New Year’s Eve with a good turn out of players competing in a stableford event.

The day’s winner with the best stableford score recorded for the season thus far was Shaun Spicer compiling 42 points.

Spicer was the clear winner, beating runner up Glen Evans by four shots.

The next best scores went to Shane McCormick and Lindsay Hall both knocking out respectable 37s.

Nearest-the-pins went to Mark Waldon with a crisp strike on the eighth, Shane McCormick peppering the 13th and Dean Brown jamming one into the 16th.

The new year will see a new summer pennant season with Nagambie taking on Kialla at the Kyabram Parkland Golf Club.

Local golf will continue as usual with a monthly medal stroke round on offer.

J. Mills will be on office duty with J. Humphries in the bar.


The women had a social nine-hole ambrose followed by a light lunch on Wednesday, December 20 to celebrate the end of the year’s golf.

The lunch was open to past and present golfers so it was great to see some familiar faces come out and spend some time remembering the fun from the past year and perhaps even a few years further back.

The winning team on the day was Ricky Rickman, Glenda Woods, Liz Gee and Sue McCall who had a net score of 29.94.

Nearest-the-pin on the 17th was Liz Gee.

In the men’s stableford competition it was a tight finish with three players finishing with a top score of 40 points.

John Ryan (21) won the count back to be the victor and Gary Wright and Ian Stuart were the runners up.

Nearest-the-pin on the fourth was Gary Wright, the sixth went to Ian Stuart, on the 12th it was John Boruch, and the 17th went to John Ryan.

To get a ball in the pool a score of 37 points was needed.

The mixed nine holes was won by Phil Block (25) with a score of 20 points.

The runner-up was Dawn Leece with 18 points.

The rest of the ball pool went to John Jennings with 17 points and Stubby Byrne with 14 points.

On Friday, December 22 the social nine holes was played over holes 10-18 as a stableford round.

The best score went to Gary Neville (29) with a score of 20 points.

The runners-up were Terry Lemon and Kevin Mulvaney both with 19 points.

Saturday again saw the men fighting for the wins with three players again sharing the best score of the day.

One of those was the A-grade winner Bill Brock (12) with 41 points.

The other two top scorers with 41 points were vying for the B-grade win.

In the end it went to Archie Currie (19) on a count back from John Muscovich.

Nearest-the-pins went to Peter Sawyer on the fourth, John Muscovich on the sixth, Bill Keating on the 12th and Matt Collard on the 17th.

The drive and pitch on the eighth was won by Terry Lemon and the 15th went to Ian Richardson.

A score of 39 points was required to be in the ball pool.

The women’s competition only had a small field and Jane Fletcher (6) was in great form when she scored 40 points to win the day.

The extra competition of the best nine in score went to Jane Fletcher with 19 points and she also won the only ball on offer in the pool.

More in The Telegraph
Login Sign Up

Dummy text