Bender comes off scratch to prevail

November 22, 2017

Sixteen riders turned out for our first 25km twilight race for the season.

Sixteen riders turned out for our first 25km twilight race for the season.

The field was separated by 14 minutes and five bunches for handicapping.

Leading the charge in warm 32°C conditions was Maitland Wallace (14 min) who did a great job of holding off the (10 min) group of Andrew Moran and newly joined junior girl, Phrinney Grant.

As the race progressed, Moran found the going too tough to hang onto Phrinney, who powered on fiercely.

At the rear end of the field, scratch bunch managed to bridge the gap of 2.30 near the turnaround point and combine forces.

Several riders found the going too tough to hang onto the high pace of Kirby, Bender, Hibberd, Lee, Baker and Thomson.

This driving force managed to pick-up the six-minute group of Mason, Brew, Lemon and B Inness, who hung on for dear life as chasing intensified for the front markers.

Young Phrinney Grant and Maitland Wallace almost stole the show, but the big rolling bunch had other ideas.

As the end drew near, only a handful of riders could hang onto the scratch boys and it came down to a fast finishing sprint with (fresh from holidays) Bret Bender taking the win convincingly.

Race results:

First: Bret Bender (scr and f/t 39.14, ave 38.22km/h).

Second: Caine Mason (6 min).

Third: Jeff Hibberd (scr).

Fourth: Ian Baker (2.30 min).

Fifth: Shayne Kirby (scr).

Sixth: Brian Inness (6 min).

Seventh: Wes Lemon (6 min).

Eighth: Phrinney Grant (jnr girls, 10 min).

Ninth: Michael Thomson (2.30 min).

10th: Maitland Wallace (14 min).

Saturday’s race started from Burgess Signs in Seymour.

The course for the day was to Stretton Vale via Palm World with a return via Avenel, a total of 52km.

Eighteen riders showed up for racing with six bunches and 23 minutes separating the field for handicapping.

A welcome return to riding saw Greig Keily lead the charge from (23 min).

He combined with the (15 min) group of B Inness, Bartlett and Grant.

Shortly after, the fast moving 10-minute group of Jacobs, Mason, Thomson and Baker had made up so much time they managed to catch the front markers before the halfway mark.

These boys were motoring so well they managed to put time into the seven-minute group of Lee, Hibberd, O’Sullivan and A Inness.

Shortly after the Stretton Vale turning point the fast moving scratch bunch was combined with the four and seven-minute groups.

With the speed well faster than 45km/hr, this big bunch saw the 10-minute group get reeled in near Mangalore.

The pace continued with a bit of cat and mousing, eventually leaving the scratch group with the win.

Race results:

First: Sam Fuhrmeister (fastest 1:18.08, ave 40.16km/h).

Second: Daryl Okeefe (scr).

Third: Shayne Kirby (4 min).

Fourth: Peter Cooper (scr).

Fifth: Christy Rilen (scr).

Sixth: Grant Harvey (4 min).

Seventh: Ian Baker (10 min).

Eighth: Michael Thomson (10 min).

Ninth: Kevin Bartlett (15 min).

10th: Adam Inness (7 min).

This weekend’s race starts from the Glenaroua Fire Station at 2pm. Twilight racing continues every Tuesday from Palm World at 6pm.

More in The Telegraph
Login Sign Up

Dummy text