Rifle championship comp

November 04, 2017

Goulburn Valley's rifle team were all smiles after the Victorian Rifle Association's teams event.

The Goulburn Valley was represented in the Victorian Rifle Association’s (VRA) teams events and champion of champions competition in Bendigo on October 21 and 22.

Each VRA district has teams in the categories of Target Rifle, F. Class Open, F. Class Standard and F. Class Target Rifle as well as each district’s champion of club champions.

The Goulburn Valley was represented in target rifle by Peter O’Dwyer (Katandra Rifle Club), Shaun Tinkler (Shepparton-Nathalia) in F. Class Open and Morrie Jackman (Shepparton-Nathalia) in F. Class Standard.

The competitions were all conducted in fine but tricky, windy conditions.

The F. Standard state winner was Garry Warrender (Wodonga) on 168.12; Morrie Jackman had 160.2.

F. Class Open went to Matt Dumesny; Shaun Tinkler had 161.3.

Target rifle went to Geoff Grenfell (Bendigo) with 149.12; Peter O’Dwyer 143.10.

The Target rifle 10-man team went to the Goulburn Valley on 1429.106. Next was Ovens and Murray (1406.72); then Metro (1380.79).

The target rifle five-man team went to Bendigo on 725.62; Gippsland (709.47); Inner West (706.43); Wimmera (703.43); North West (664.36).

F. Class standard 10-man team went to Gippsland (1642); Metro 819.25.

Five-man team: Western District (819.25); East Central (817.34); Wimmera (810.25); Goulburn Valley (800.24); Ovens and Murray (795.28); Inner West (765.17); South West (718.15).

F. Class Open: Gippsland (864.44); Bendigo (862.46); Western District (846.43); Goulburn Valley (832.29); Inner West (815.26); East Central (794.27).

Goulburn Valley’s individual target rifle scores are: Tony Barker 146.15; Brian Hayes 138.11; Phil Betts 143.9; Len Hayes 146.11; David Black 147.11; Barry Wood 145.11; Simon Whatley 137.6; Peter O’Dwyer 145.14; Peter Daldy 137.5; James Corbett 145.13.

F. Class Open: Shaun Tinkler 167.5; Max Groves 166.3; Jason Li 171.10; Alan Fuge 169.9; Luke McKenna 162.2; Morrie Jackman 160.2; Craig Weaire 163.7; Warren Burns 157.7; Kevin Epps 158.4; Joe Melbourne 162.4.

More in The Telegraph
Login Sign Up

Dummy text