Come-from-behind victory at Nagambie

November 03, 2017

The champions from l to rShirley Wright , Matt O'Sullivan , Diana Stammers, Rob Oldman and Mark Fountain.


Shane McCormick has brushed aside his ‘bridesmaid’ tag with a come-from-behind victory in the Social Club Trophy.

The six-round Stableford event rewards consistency throughout the year for which Shane is renowned for.

His second place finish in the final round, secured a four-point victory from the travelling Peter Lawrence and the day’s winner Jeremy Ezard.

Ezard shot a fine one under 71 on his way to 38 points to beat McCormick via a count-back.

Next best and continuing his excellent form from the previous week was Glen Evans, who narrowly beat Harold Raynor, also on a count-back with both golfers on 37 points.

Nearest-the-pins went to pin seeker Lindsay Hall on the 13th after momentarily thinking he had holed out for an ace, and new member Dave Fullager with a fine strike on 16th.

Next week is a stroke round and first round of the summer trophy with Dean Brown in the office and Tim Baldwin in the bar.

A reminder that we have changed across to the summer tee-off time of 8am to 8.30am, with all welcome.


On Wednesday we had 15 players for the closing of the winter season and a 12-hole Ambrose was played.

The winners with nett 35.16 were Mozzie Fowler, Jo Goodacre and Bonnie Purbrick.

Nearest-the-pin on the 13th hole was Sue Verge.

The winner of the Winter Eclectic was Jenny Jeong with a nett 63.5 and the Most Reduced Handicap was won by Jo Goodacre.

Today will be a stroke round and on November 8 it will be a Par round for the Monthly Medal.

On November 10 the first of the Costa Mushrooms four-person Ambrose will be played.

Please get a group together and phone Ronda on 0408349505 with your entries.

The Chicken run on Thursday was won by Des Phelan with 48 (12.5) 35.5 nett from a field of 12 players.

There was no nearest-the-pin winner.

Tomorrow will be a Stableford round on the back nine.


Saturday saw the culmination of the club championships.

After four stroke rounds on four consecutive weeks, Matt O’Sullivan with a four-round total of 307 strokes won the Club Championship for 2017.

The Men’s B-grade champion was Mark Fountain with a 335 stroke total and Rob Oldman topped C-grade with a 366 total.

Junior champion was Dan O’Sullivan with 358 strokes.

The ladies’ championship was played over three weeks and the 2017 Lady Champion is Shirley Wright with a 265 total and the B-grade champion, Di Stammers, with 291 total over the three weeks.

Played in conjunction with the championships, the men have a trophy for the best nett round of the championships.

This was won by Gerry Bender.

The ladies recognise the best two-round nett total.

The winners of these awards were Sue McCall in A-grade with a nett total of 144, and in B-grade, Pam Jarvis with a two-round nett total of 145.

Along with the championships, weekly golf events continued.

On Wednesday, October 25, 18 men contested a stableford round.

The winner was Gary Wright with 39 points.

Runner-up was Terry Lemon with 36.

Nearest-the-pins were won by Terry Lemon (fourth), Greg Pell (sixth), and Gerry Bender (17th).

The nine-hole competition was won by Don Gee with 20 points on a count-back from Phil Block.

Only six women played and Ricky Rickman showed good form to win with 39 points.

Ricky continued her form into Thursday when she played in the Marysville Tournament and tied for the best scratch round of 89.

This necessitated a play off which was won by the local player, Gail Leigh, against Ricky.

Ricky still came home with the trophy for the best handicap result.

Friday night’s stableford competition attracted 18 players.

Club Captain, Mark Fountain was the winner with 21 points from Ian Richardson with 20 points.

Saturday’s competition (also the final round of the championships) was played by 48 men and 13 women.

The men’s A-grade winner was Rhys Waugh 81-13-68 and the winner of B-grade, Gerry Bender 92-23-69.

Nearest-the-pins were Gerard O’Sullivan (fourth), Peter Sawyer (sixth), Matt Bibby (12th) and Phil Jarvis (17th).

The drive and pitch on the eighth was won by Jane Fletcher and on the 15th, Gerard Hard.

The women’s A-grade winner was Jane Fletcher 78-5-73 and B-grade winner, Pam Jarvis 93-20-70.

Shirley Wright was nearest-the-pin on the 17th.

On Sunday of last week, a number of Seymour players supported the Mary Walker Memorial Day at Yea Golf Club and Mark and Tina Fountain were the winners on the day with 65 nett.

On Wednesday both men and ladies will play stableford and on Saturday, November 4 it is stroke and monthly medal for both men and ladies.


Twilight golf is up and running at Avenel and last Friday nine players contested a stableford round.

The winner was Graeme Toy with 17 points.

Ball winners were Willie Wheeler on 16 points and Anne Buntine on 15 points.

No one claimed nearest-the-pin ball.

Members are reminded that Tuesday golf is continuing but at the earlier hit off time of 9.30am.

As with twilight golf, it’s open to men and ladies and visitors are welcome, so if you feel like a game on a Tuesday morning, come along and join in.

On a serious note, our clubhouse was broken into a few weekends back with the front door being badly damaged.

The office was rifled as were other cupboards around the clubhouse, and the police were called to investigate.

Finally, don’t forget the Melbourne Cup Calcutta which is being held at the club this Monday.

A cold buffet dinner will be available from 6pm and the calcutta will start at 7.30pm.

As in previous years, Bill Shelton will be MC, auctioneer and story teller and it’s always a fun night.

The cost is $80 per table, which guarantees a horse, and there is prize money for first, second, third and last.

If you haven’t already booked then phone Lance or Lyn Carracher on 57985268 or 0427985268 or David Fullager on 0439845842.

More in The Telegraph
Login Sign Up

Dummy text